“‘The Law is Clear…’ – Former FIFA Referee Comments on Dominic Solanke Incident in Tottenham’s Loss to Ipswich”
Keith Hackett maintains Tottenham have no grounds to complain about Dominic Solanke’s disallowed goal against Ipswich on Sunday.

In Tottenham’s 2-1 home loss to Ipswich on 10 November, Dominic Solanke believed he had reduced the deficit before Rodrigo Bentancur scored in the 49th minute with a close-range finish.
However, Solanke’s goal was disallowed following a VAR check, which determined the ball touched his hand after his shot.
This decision sparked frustration among fans, including Jamie O’Hara.
Former FIFA referee and PGMOL chief Keith Hackett defended the ruling, noting that even an accidental handball cannot result in a goal. Hackett explained to Tottenham Hotspur News, “The law is clear.
Even if it’s accidental, you cannot score a goal with the use of your arm. In this situation, it’s the correct decision.”

While the incident captured the challenges in Solanke’s performance, the result meant Spurs missed the chance to climb to third in the Premier League, allowing Ipswich to escape the relegation zone.
Ange Postecoglou’s team instead sits tenth in the table with 16 points, with five wins and one draw from 11 games.
Spurs now aim to regain momentum when they face Manchester City after the international break on 23 November.



